

## STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

December 13, 2010

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday December 13, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Brian Nordby, Mark Christensen, Michael Marotz, John Mandl, Dean Quinn, and Rod Zoubek. Also present Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, and Kim Hoehne.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Rod Zoubek to declare the meeting open and properly posted and/or published by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the November 8, 2010 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Three correspondences were read.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon gave the annual community comprehensive report and an update on RTI Intense Training.

Superintendent Michael Sieh gave the secondary principal report. He reported on personnel issues, State qualifiers and the One Act play.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on middle school sound system, track repair and resurfacing, financial priorities, monthly transactions, superintendent evaluation, shared superintendence, upcoming workshops and conferences, and nomination to NASB Board of Directors.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Dean Quinn to nominate Mike Marotz to serve as NASB Region #11 Director. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the community school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl to approve the hire of Deb Diekmann and Norman Pabaira as ½ time custodians at a rate of \$10.01 per hour. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Dean Quinn to accept with regrets the resignation of Wendy Bensen effective immediately. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Mark Christensen, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize Shannon Pestel for qualifying for state with a 2<sup>nd</sup> place finish in extemporaneous speaking at district FFA competition along with Sponsor Dustin Lambertsen. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to recognize the Football Team and Coachs for qualifying for the state football playoffs. Team members included Houston Huss, Blake Heppner, Michael Eberly, Adam Krentz, Eustin Frisch, Ed Dozler, Kody Erbst, Colby Wolff, Spencer Nickolite, Mick Clausen, Jeb Nordby, Justice Hahlbeck, Caleb Goeken, Tucker Lanz, Derek Bremer, Tim Mendlik, Brennan Borgmann, Seth Weis, Cody Carlson, Jacob Vogel, Brian Qualls, Bryant Borgmann, Jacob Bohac, John Rusk, Kyle Kander, Tanner Tomka, Jake Leaver, and Hunter Hetzler along with Coaches Jeff Wall, Dave Stoddard, Tom King and Jason Brown. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded by John Mandl to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills and all late bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to enter into executive session at 8:15 p.m. for personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of

needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl to exit executive session at 9:27 p.m. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to officially commit to a shared superintendency with Pirece Public Schools and allow the Pierce Public Schools to interview Stanton's Superintendent. Aye: John Mandl, Michael Marotz and Brian Nordby. Nay: Mark Christensen, Dean Quinn, and Rod Zoubek. Motion failed.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:35 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be January 10, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 16<sup>th</sup> of December 2010.

Signed	
	Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools

Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. December 22, 2010)