

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

April 11, 2011

Corrected

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday April 11, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Brian Nordby, Michael Marotz, John Mandl, Mark Christensen and Rod Zoubek. Absent: Dean Quinn. Also present Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and three guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to declare the meeting open and properly posted and/or published by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Brian Nordby to excuse Dean Quinn from the April 11, 2011 board of education meeting due to work circumstances. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the March 7, 2011 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held, three guests were welcomed.

Craig Jones from D.A. Davidson & Co. presented a resolution to refinance bonds.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby seconded by John Mandl to approve the resolution calling certain outstanding maturities of the district's series 2006 limited tax bond issue for redemption and refunding at lower interest rates. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the resolution authorizing issuance of not to exceed \$360,000 of the district's series 2011 limited tax refunding bonds for the purpose of redeeming and paying off certain outstanding maturities of the district's series 2006 limited tax issue to achieve interest savings due to lower interest rates. AMPVF-MC.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on math textbook orders and Kindergarten roundup.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill reported on Elkhorn Valley Public Health contest, staffing patterns, employee agreement, staff resignation, teachers/coaches contracts and evaluation, state speech, and FBLA national convention. Guidance Counselor Kendra Marshall gave the annual guidance report.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the annual walk around, quotes for resurfacing track, quotes to repair kitchen HVAC unit, superintendent's contract, additional employment contracts, state aid model, monthly financial transactions, NASB election, surplus sale items, cooping activities with other local schools and gave the annual comprehensive Governance and Americanism report.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Rod Zoubek to congratulate the state qualifiers in Speech; Kelsey Colwell, Melissa Leaver, Grant Nordby, Dasirae Sieh, Kevin Thor & Carter Westerhold: and State Medalists Kelsey Colwell for her 4th place finish in Humorous Prose, Melissa Leaver for her 4th place finish in Entertainment & Serious Prose, Kevin Thor for his 5th place finish in Informative Speaking, and Grant Nordby & Carter Westerhold for their State Championship in Duet Acting; and the team and coaches Ted Peck and Meredith Jessen for being awarded third place finish at State. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to table the quotes to repair and resurface of the track until the next regular meeting. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to accept the quote from Control Management Inc in the amount of \$29,715.00 to repair and replace the high school kitchen heating, ventilation, and air condition system. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Michael Marotz to approve the 2011-2012 Superintendent's Contract in the amount of \$120,100.00. Ayes: Brian Nordby, Michael Marotz, John Mandl, and Mark Christensen. Nays: Rod Zoubek. Absent: Dean Quinn.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Michael Marotz to approve the Governance and Americanism school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Rod Zoubek to vote for Michael Marotz for the NASB Legislative Committee Member district #15. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the disposal of items listed in attachment label "Disposal Items" and dated April 11, 2011 according to board policy #3090. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Brian Nordby to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills and all late bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account

Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby that the Board holds a closed session at 9:55 p.m. for discussion of personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Rod Zoubek to exit closed session at 10: 05 p.m. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to approve the employee agreement between Meredith Jessen and the Stanton Community School District. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Mark Christensen to accept the resignation of Christina Bowsman effective at the end of the 2010-2011 school year. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 10:06 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be May 9, 2011 at 6:00 a.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 14th of April 2011.

Signed	
	Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. April 20, 2011)