

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

January 11, 2010

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday January 11, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Mark Christensen, Michael Marotz, John Mandl, Rod Zoubek, Dean Quinn and Brian Nordby. Also present Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and three guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Mark Christensen to declare the meeting open and properly posted and/or published by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

John Mandl nominated Michael Marotz for President. Moved by Dean Quinn, seconded by Rod Zoubek that nominations for President cease. AMPVF-MC. Michael Marotz was elected President.

Brian Nordby nominated Dean Quinn for Vice-President. Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Rod Zoubek that nominations for Vice-President cease. AMPVF-MC. Dean Quinn was elected Vice-President.

Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to appoint Michael J. Sieh as Secretary. AMPVF-MC. Michael J. Sieh was appointed Secretary.

Mark Christensen nominated John Mandl for Honorary Secretary. Moved by Brian Nordby, seconded by Rod Zoubek that nominations for Honorary Secretary cease. AMPVF-MC. John Mandl was elected Honorary Secretary

Dean Quinn nominated Rod Zoubek for Treasurer. Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen that nominations for Treasurer cease. AMPVF-MC. Rod Zoubek was elected Treasurer.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the December 14, 2009 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon gave a presentation on Response to Intervention with Mrs. Jean Lance, Title I Instructor, and presented the 2009-2010 State of the School Report.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill gave the annual comprehensive report for the personnel committee and reported on all-state/academic all-state awards.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the phone, clock, bells and intercom system, monthly transactions, superintendent evaluation, board retreat, Mary McKeon's selection as New Elementary Principal of the Year for Region III, district's government relations representative and board conferences.

Motion was made by Mark Christensen, seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the personnel school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Dean Quinn, second by John Mandl to recognize Tate Erbst for being selected to the 2009 All-State Football Team. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Brian Nordby, second by Dean Quinn to recognize Miranda Clausen & Samantha Unger, volleyball; Grant Nordby & Colton Sperl, cross-country; Jacob Bohac, football; Brianna Frickenstein, girls golf; and Nancy Seeman & Alex Wolf, play production for Academic All-State Awards. AMPVF-MC

Moved by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Brian Nordby to appoint John Mandl as the district's government relations network representative. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded by John Mandl a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue, AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:17 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be February 8, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 14 th of January 2010.	Signed		
		Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools	
(Pub. January 20, 2010)		Stanton, NE 68779-0749	