

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

January 10, 2011

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday January 10, 2011 at 6:48 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Oath of Office was taken by all board members present.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Brian Nordby, Mark Christensen, Michael Marotz, John Mandl, and Dean Quinn. Absent: Rod Zoubek. Also present Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill and Mary McKeon.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby to declare the meeting open and properly posted and/or published by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Mark Christensen to excuse Rod Zoubek from the January 10, 2011 board of education meeting due to work circumstances.

Brian Nordby nominated Michael Marotz for President. Moved by Dean Quinn, seconded by Mark Christensen that nominations for President cease. AMPVF-MC. Michael Marotz was elected President.

Mark Christensen nominated Dean Quinn for Vice-President. Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Michael Marotz that nominations for Vice-President cease. AMPVF-MC. Dean Quinn was elected Vice-President.

Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to appoint Michael J. Sieh as Secretary. AMPVF-MC. Michael J. Sieh was appointed Secretary.

Michael Marotz nominated Brian Nordby for Honorary Secretary. Moved by Dean Quinn seconded by John Mandl that nominations for Honorary Secretary cease. AMPVF-MC. Brian Nordby was elected Honorary Secretary

Dean Quinn nominated Rod Zoubek for Treasurer. Moved by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl that nominations for Treasurer cease. AMPVF-MC. Rod Zoubek was elected Treasurer.

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the December 13, 2010 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on the annual district report card and file review of ILCD close out.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill gave the annual personnel report and reported on State Champion of the One Act play production.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on track repair and resurfacing, sanitation services, non glare marker boards, monthly transactions, superintendent evaluation form, upcoming conferences, board retreat and appointment of representative to NASB government relation network.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the personnel school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize the One-Act Team and Coaches for their Championship plaques earned at the District and State One-Act Performances. Team members include Justin Aaberg, Sami Beel, Cole Beyke, Dacia Beyke, Jacob Bohac, Jos Boon, Bryant Borgmann, Brennan Borgmann, Audrey Brandl, Elton Brown, Austin Carstens, Kennedy Cheyney, Lindsay Christiansen, Melissa Christiansen, Mick Clausen, Miranda Clausen, Kelsey Colwell, Amber Daniel, Zachary Doffin, Ed Dozler, Michael Eberly, Kody Erbst, Allison Flood, Emily Flood, Brianna Frickenstein, Eustin Frisch, Justice Hahlbeck, Dan Hekrdle, Blake Heppner, Tyler Herscheid, Hunter Hetzler, Zaidya Hirschman, Dana Johnson, Kelsey Johnson, Kyle Kander, Patrick Kosmacek, Tucker Lanz, Melissa Leaver, Amber Mandl, Eric McCarthy, Michael McCarthy, Tim Mendlik, Paige Moore, Grant Nordby, Audrey Novotny, Samantha Oestreich, Dexter Patterson, Shannon Pestel, Ashley Peters, Shelby Putters, Shaila Quinn, Ian Reese, Kaleb Reigle, Jacob Roenfeldt, John Rusk, Lisa Scheidegger, Mkenzie Schramm, Rachel Shafer, Dasirae Sieh, Katrina Sperl, Hannah Stodola, Seth Theisen, Devon Thelen, Jasmine Thompson, Kevin Thor, Rebecca Unger, Jacob Vogel, Aubrey Warnke, Seth Weis, Carter Westerhold, Spencer Westerhold, Natasha White, Colby Wolff, Hanna Wulf and Siera Zach along with Coaches Ted Peck and Sue Seeman. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to recognize Grant Nordby for being named the Outstanding Male Actor at the Class C1 State Play Productions. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Brian Nordby to appoint John Mandl as the district's government relations network representative. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills and all late bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Dean Quinn to enter into executive session at 7:36 p.m. for personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to exit executive session at 7:48 p.m. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 7:49 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be February 14, 2011 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 13th of January 2011.

Signed	
	Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. January 19, 2011)