

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

April 9, 2012

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday April 9, 2012 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Dean Quinn, Brian Nordby, Michael Marotz, John Mandl, and Mark Christensen. Absent: Rod Zoubek. Also present Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and five guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby seconded by John Mandl to declare the meeting open and properly posted and/or published by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Mark Christensen to excuse Rod Zoubek from the April 9, 2012 board of education meeting due to work related circumstances. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the March 12, 2012 regular was approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held, guests were welcomed.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on kindergarten roundup.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill reported on resignations and state qualifiers & medalists. Guidance Counselor Kendra Marshal gave her annual report.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on building security & access control bids, insulating air ducts in the high school, scheduled annual walk around, elementary principal and superintendent

contracts, additional employment contracts, classified staff salary scale, monthly transactions, recommended new hires, and gave the annual Governance & Americanism comprehensive report.

Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to accept the resignation of Phil Harsch with regrets. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Mark Christensen, seconded by Brian Nordby to accept the resignation of Dr. Chris Stogdill with regrets. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Brian Nordby to congratulate the State Qualifiers in boys basketball: Spencer Nickolite, Steven Petersen, Blake Heppner, Michael Eberly, Kody Erbst, Tim Mendlik, Justice Hahlbeck, Tanner Tomka, Adam Krentz, Cody Carlson, Ed Dozler, Cole Beyke, Eustin Frisch, & Tucker Lanz along with their coaches Jason Brown, Pat Brechbill & Keith Eriksen; and the State Qualifiers in Speech: Justin Aaberg, Kelsey Colwell, Zach Doffin, and Ian Reese; and State Medalists: Kelsey Colwell for her 2nd place finish in Humorous & 4th place finish in Poetry and Ian Reese for his 4th place finish in Humorous along with coaches Ted Peck and Meredith Jessen. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Dean Quinn, second by John Mandl to accept the bid from Safe-N-Secure in the amount of \$38,876.50 for building security and access control. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Mark Christensen, seconded by Brian Nordby to table the bids for the insulating of air ducts at the high school until the May 14, 2012 regular board meeting. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the 2012-2013 superintendents' contract in the amount of \$125,000.00 and the 2012-2013 elementary principals' contract in the amount of \$71,350.00. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Mark Christensen, seconded by Brian Nordby, to approve the governance and Americanism school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Mark Christensen, seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the contract between Carol Liekhus and the School District for the position of School Librarian for the 2012-2013 school year. Ayes: Mark Christensen, Dean Quinn, and John Mandl. Nays: Michael Marotz and Brian Nordby. Absent: Rod Zoubek. Motion passed.

Motion was made by Mark Christensen, seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the employment of Larry Schomaker for the position of elementary custodian at a rate of \$10.26 per hour. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded by Dean Quinn to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills and all late bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl, that the Board holds a closed session at 8:15 p.m. for a strategy session with respect to collective bargaining clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to exit closed session at 8:31 p.m. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:32 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be May 14, 2012 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 11th of April 2012.

Signed:

(Pub. April 18, 2012)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749