

## STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

December 10, 2012

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday December 10, 2012 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Michael Marotz, Rod Zoubek Mark Christensen, John Mandl, Dean Quinn, and Brian Nordby. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and twenty-five guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Rod Zoubek to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the November 11, 2012 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed, two spoke at the meeting.

Elementary Principal reported on the State of the Schools Report and gave the annual comprehensive community report.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on cell phone follow up report (two students addressed the board), staff resignation, recognition of all-state students and one act team, and also reviewed student athletic discipline procedures.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on lease with Ag Society (a representative from the Ag Society addressed the board), update on building energy audit (a representative from CMI addressed

the board), 2011-2012 audit (a representative from Dana F. Cole & Company, LLP reviewed the audit with the board), projector proposal, teacher negotiations, recognition of the SEA as the exclusive bargaining agent for the 2014-2015 contract year, monthly financials, superintendent evaluation and upcoming workshops and conferences. Mark Christensen addressed the board concerning a nepotism policy.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to approve the community school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Brian Nordby to accept the resignation of Karen Petersen with regrets. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl to recognize Braska Patterson for receiving Class C All-State Cross Country and Jessie Gichuru for Class C All-State Choir. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to recognize the One-Act Team and Coaches for their Championship Plaques earned at the District and State One-Act Performances. Team members include Justin Aaberg, Leah Arens, Sami Beel, Trevor Bergman, Jake Betzen, Dacia Beyke, Sara Bohoc, Brennan Borgmann, Tommie Brechbill, Colby Carley, Melissa Christiansen, Haley Cleveland, Abigail Colsden, Kelsey Colwell, Brooke Dahlkoetter, Manuel Delaolla, Zachary Doffin, Skye Dozler, Alyiah Francis, Isaiah Francis, Eustin Frisch, Keyton Frisch, Allison Garcia, Jesse Gichuru, Gavin Goesch, Skylar Hazen, Christian Heppner, Hunter Hetzler, Caylan Hirschman, Zaidya Hirschman, Patrick Hoffman, Kaitlinn Jochum, Kelsey Johnson, Darion Kinning, Gregory Kosmacek, Patrick Kosmacek, Brooke Kremlacek, Ashlyn Krutz, Tucker Lanz, Shayla Mandl, Eric McCarthy, Monica Moore, Ethan Quinn, Ian Reese, Kody Reese, Kaleb Reigle, Morgan Reigle, Richele Ruiter, John Rusk, Courtney Schellpeper, Rachel Shafer, Raelynn Smith, Britanni Sothan, Hannah Stodola, Devon Thelen, Paige Thelen, Brittney Toy, Journee Trimble, Alexis Velasquez, Ashley Waggoner, Seth Weis, Spencer Westerhold, John White, Natasha White and Ariel Zach along with Coaches Ted Peck, Sue Seeman, and student managers Lee Betzen, Ashley Colwell, and Sally Brechbill, AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to recognize Kelsey Colwell for being named the Outstanding Female Actor and John Rusk for being named the Outstanding Male Actor at the Class C1 State Play Productions. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn to accept the audit report for the 2011-2012 school year as prepared by Dana F. Cole, P.C. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Mark Christensen, seconded by John Mandl to accept the bid for Dascom Systems Group for \$34,100.00 for 10 video projectors packages. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Mark Christensen, seconded by Brian Nordby that the Stanton Education Association be recognized as the exclusive bargaining agent for the Stanton Community Schools' certificated employees as defined by Neb. Rev Stat. § 79-824, as well as the guidance counselor, technology coordinator and media specialist but excluding administrators as defined in Neb. Rev Stat. § 79-101, for the 2014-2015 contract year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Mark Christensen to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills and all late bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl that the board holds a closed session at 9:35 p.m. for a strategy session with respect to collective bargaining and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to exit close session at 11:18 p.m.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 11:19 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be January 14, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 14th of December 2012.	
Signed:	
_	Michael J. Sieh, Secretary
	Stanton Community Schools
(Pub. December 19, 2012)	Stanton, NE 68779-0749