

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

April 13, 2009

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted notice and current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the posted notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF - All members present voted for, MC-Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, April 13, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Mark Christensen, John Mandl, Dean Quinn, Rod Zoubek, Michael Marotz, and Brian Nordby. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, Chris Stogdill, Kim Hoehne and eight guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn to declare the meeting open and properly advertised by posting in accordance with board policy #8342 and properly advertised by advanced notice in the Stanton Register. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the board agenda as provided. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the March 9, 2009 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the president.

A public forum was held. Eight guests were welcomed.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon gave a report on summer school, 7-12 science textbooks, and Kindergarten roundup.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill reported on the robotics team, personnel, state and national qualifiers for FFA, FBLA and Speech. Five students and FBLA sponsor Susan Seeman gave a presentation on the results from state convention and possible National convention.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the annual walk around, carpet bids, additional employment contracts, principal salaries, summer school additional employment contacts, monthly financial transactions, outstanding teacher recognition, insurance bids and gave the annual

Governance and Americanism comprehensive report. Craig Jones of DA Davidson presented information about bond re-finance.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to accept the 7-12 science textbook bid from Glenco/McGraw-Hill totaling \$16,964.70. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the resolution between Sharon Sanderson and the Stanton Community Schools concerning her resignation agreement. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to congratulate State Qualifiers in Speech: Taylor Kleinschmit, Melissa Leaver, Alexis Sieh, Jeremy Anderson, Samantha Weis, Alex Wolf, & Carter Westerhold; and State Medalists Melissa Leaver for her State Runner up in Serious Prose and Sam Weis for her 3rd place finish in Humorous; and coaches Ted Peck and Meredith Jessen. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Dean Quinn to congratulate State Qualifiers in FFA: Sydney Schellpeper, Olivia Domogalla, Bethany Kethcart & Kyley Reese in Junior Livestock Judging; Olivia Domogalla, Allison Flood, Grant Nordby, Daisy Canchola, Michael McCarthy & Felicia Sothan in Agriculture Sales; Nellie Daniel, Brenda Jensen, Felicia Sothan & Shelby Paulsen in Floriculture; Sydney Schellpeper, Samantha Oestreich, Bethany Kethcart & Kyley Reese in Agriscience; and Nellie Daniel as a finalist in Equine Proficiency. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by Dean Quinn seconded by Rod Zoubek to congratulate State Placers in FBLA: Tiffany Henrickson, Kevin Thor & Nancy Seeman in Management Decision Making Team (2nd Place); Ashley Hoffman, Adri Aleman & Amber Mandl in Website Development Team (1st Place); Nancy Seeman in Public Speaking II (1st Place) and Word Processing II (1st Place); Melissa Leaver in Impromptu Speaking (5th Place); Nancy Seeman in Accounting II (4th Place); Miranda Clausen in Word Processing I (8th Place); Kevin Thor in Business Math (8th Place); and Grant Nordby (Honorable Mention) in Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn seconded by John Mandl to congratulate National Qualifiers in FBLA: Tiffany Henrickson, Kevin Thor & Nancy Seeman in Management Decision Making Team; Ashley Hoffman, Adri Aleman & Amber Mandl in Website Development Team; Nancy Seeman in Public Speaking II and Word Processing II. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by Brian Nordby seconded by Dean Quinn to pledge 1/2 the cost for all students to represent Stanton Community Schools at the FBLA National Convention and the full cost of the sponsor to attend the National Convention. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Mark Christensen to accept the carpeting bid from Flooring Solutions in the amount of \$12,037.38. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by Dean Quinn seconded by Brian Nordby to call certain outstanding Maturities of the District's Series 2002 Bond Issue for redemption on May 15, 2009; and to authorize the issuance of \$1,070,000 in Series 2009 Refunding Bonds, for the purpose of refunding certain outstanding maturities of the District's Series 2002 Bond Issue in the amounts and at the rates presented. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by Brian Nordby seconded by John Mandl to approve the Additional Employment Contract between Karen Petersen and the school district for the summer of 2009. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by Michael Marotz seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the Governance & Americanism School Improvement Action Plan. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek seconded by John Mandl to recognize Miss Karen Gray for accomplishment of receiving the Nebraska Rural Community Schools Association (NRCSA) Outstanding Secondary Teacher Award. AMPVF-MC

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Rod Zoubek to solicit insurance bids. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Mark Christensen to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl that the board holds a closed session at 8:40 p.m. for a strategy session with respect to collective bargaining clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to exit closed session at 9:25 p.m. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:26 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be May 11, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 20th of April, 2009.

Signed:

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. April 22, 2009)