

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

December 8, 2008

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF - All members present voted for, MC-Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, December 8, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz. Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Rod Zoubek, Brian Nordby, Michael Marotz, and Al Wolverton. Absent: Dean Quinn. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, Chris Stogdill and ten guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to declare the meeting open and properly advertised by advance notice in the Stanton Register. Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the board agenda as provided. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the November 10, 2008 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the president.

A public forum was held. Ten guests were welcomed. Correspondences of two thank you cards were read.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on the after school program, science and health curriculums, and the annual comprehensive community report.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill reported on all-state vocalist and athletes, one act play production, community service projects. Three students from the sixth grade and their teachers gave a presentation.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the disposal of unused items, grant and financial priority lists, purchase cards, CEPA grant, monthly transactions, and the superintendent's evaluation.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Rod Zoubek to excuse Dean Quinn from the December 8, 2008 board of education meeting due to family related circumstances. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to approve the community school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Al Wolverton to endorse an after school program. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Al Wolverton to recognize the football team and coaches for qualifying for the State football playoffs. Team members include Taylor Caldwell, Blake Heppner, Kody Erbst, Pat Campbell, Michael Eberly, Dennis Tomka, Paul Cheyney, Spencer Nickolite, Mick Clausen, Evan Eberly, Steven Petersen, Jacob Bohac, Tate Erbst, Justice Hahlbeck, Elton Brown, Brian Qualls, Bryant Borgmann, Tim Mendlik, Jeremy Anderson, Dan Hekrdle, Mark Tomka, Tanner Tomka, Brandon Oestreich, Brent Thor, Nelson Vollbrecht, Bo Qualls, and Grant Nordby along with Coaches Greg Hansen, Dave Stoddard, and Jeff Wall. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to recognize Brittni Hart for qualifying for the State cross country meet along with Coach Jacob Blum. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Al Wolverton to recognize Nancy Seeman and Kelsey Bernbeck for their selection into the All-state Class C Choir along with vocal music teacher Austin Brown. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Brian Nordby to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Al Wolverton that the Board holds a closed session at 8:40 p.m. for personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to exit closed session at 8:58 p.m.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:59 p.m. The next regular monthly meeting will be January 12, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library. Dated this 15th of December, 2008.

Signed:

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. December 17, 2008)