

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

December 14, 2009

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday December 14, 2009 at 7:01 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Mark Christensen, Michael Marotz, John Mandl, Rod Zoubek, and Brian Nordby. Absent: Dean Quinn. Also present Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and one guest.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Rod Zoubek to declare the meeting open and properly posted and/or published by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Brian Nordby to excuse Dean Quinn from the December 14, 2009 board of education meeting due to work related circumstances. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the November 9, 2009 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. One guest was welcomed. Correspondence included invitations to the board for the staff Christmas party and the Race to the Top grant memorandum of understanding.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon gave an update on the standards assessment report and gave the annual comprehensive report for the community committee.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill reported on the January in-service speaker and one act play production.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the ARRA Idea grant, phone, clock, bells and intercom system, financial priorities for 2009-2010, policy #5419, monthly transactions, incumbent filing deadline, superintendent evaluation and board conferences.

Motion was made by Mark Christensen, seconded by John Mandl to approve the community school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Rod Zoubek, second by John Mandl to recognize the One-Act Team and Coaches for their Championship Plaques earned at the District and State One-Act Performances. Team members include Justin Aaberg, Adrianna Aleman, Cole Beyke, Jacob Bohac, Brennan Borgmann, Greg Brandl, Kennedy Cheyney, Lindsay Christiansen, Melissa Christiansen, Mick Clausen, Miranda Clausen, Kelsey Colwell, Amber Daniel, Zachary Doffin, Kyle Dover, Tim Dozler, Michael Eberly, Kody Erbst, Tate Erbst, Allison Flood, Brianna Frickenstein, Gavin Goesch, Shari Hastreiter, Dan Hekrdle, Tiffany Henrickson, Josh Herscheid, Tyler Herscheid, Hunter Hetzler, Jade Hetzler, Zaidya Hirschman, Ashley Hoffman, Kelcey Huntley, Dana Johnson, Taylor Kleinschmit, Roman Knudsen, Patrick Kosmacek, Tucker Lanz, Melissa Leaver, Amber Mandl, Michael McCarthy, Tim Mendlik, Grant Nordby, Jeb Nordby, Audrey Novotny, Thomas Nunez, Nick Oertwich, Samantha Oestreich, Dexter Patterson, Shannon Pestel, Abigail Podany, Bailey Poeschl, Samantha Putters, Shelby Putters, Shaila Quinn, John Rusk, Lisa Scheidegger, Mkenzie Schramm, Nancy Seeman, Dasirae Sieh, Katrina Sperl, Hannah Stodola, Devon Thelen, Kevin Thor, Sam Unger, Genna Vogel, Nelson Vollbrecht, Lari Wagner, Samantha Weis, Carter Westerhold, Natasha White, Alex Wolf, Colby Wolff, and Hanna Wulf along with Coaches Ted Peck and Sue Seeman. AMPVF-MC

Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the second reading of board policy #5419 Use of Restraints and Seclusion. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Michael Marotz a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to enter executive session at 7:50 p.m. for personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby to exit executive session at 8:25 p.m. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:26 p.m. The next regular monthly meeting will be January 11, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 17th of December, 2009.

Signed _____

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. December 23, 2009)