

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

December 10, 2007

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF - All members present voted for, MC-Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, December 10, 2007 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community Schools, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz. Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Michael Marotz, Rod Zoubek, Dean Quinn, Al Wolverton, and Brian Nordby. Also present were Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and three guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Rod Zoubek to declare the meeting open and properly advertised by advance notice in the Stanton Register. Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to approve the board agenda as provided. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the November 12th amended budget hearing and regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the president.

A public forum was held. Three visitors were welcomed. A thank you from the VFW and a resignation were read.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon gave the annual community comprehensive report and reported on the Nebraska led peer math review, and ILCD update.

Secondary Principal/Activity Director Chris Stogdill reported on all-state vocalist and athletes, one act play production and community service projects.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the IT/Ag shop heating units, grant and financial priority lists, NRCSA legislative review, superintendent's evaluation, administrative team goals and incentive payment, and February board retreat.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the community school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize the football team and coaches for qualifying for the State Football playoffs. Team members include Taylor Caldwell, Bubba Paige, Patrick Campbell, Dennis Tomka, Paul Cheyney, Tim Dozler, Evan Eberly, Josh Herscheid, Jake Herscheid, Jacob Bohac, Tate Erbst, Shane Jensen, Brian Qualls, Bryant Borgmann, Tanner Timperley, Bo Qualls, Jeremy Anderson, Mark Tomka, Tyler Cadwallader, Brandon Oestreich, Anthony Wolverton, Brent Thor, Eric Hansen, Nelson Vollbrecht, Grant Nordby and Bryce Borgmann. Coaches are Greg Hansen, Dave Stoddard, Jeff Wall and Colt Meyer. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize Nancy Seeman for her selection into the all-state class C choir. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Dean Quinn to a) approve payment for the November bills of District #3 presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; e) accept the Statement of Revenue and f) approve the Cooperative Fund bills for November. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Michael Marotz that the Board holds a closed session at 8:35 p.m. for personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Al Wolverton to reconvene in open session at 9:56 p.m. before any formal action was taken. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Al Wolverton to accept the resignation of Christopher (Colt) Meyer effectively dated December 7, 2007. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Al Wolverton to approve the incentive payments to the administrative staff. Ayes: John Mandl, Michael Marotz, Al Wolverton, and Brian Nordby. Nays: Dean Quinn, Rod Zoubek. MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 10:00 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be January 14, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 14th of December, 2007.

Signed:

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. December 19, 2007)