

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

January 14, 2008

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF - All members present voted for, MC-Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, January 14, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz. Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Michael Marotz, Rod Zoubek, Dean Quinn, Al Wolverton, and Brian Nordby. Also present were Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and one guest.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Al Wolverton to declare the meeting open and properly advertised by advance notice in the Stanton Register. Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Election of officers was held:

John Mandl nominated Michael Marotz for President. Dean Quinn nominated Al Wolverton for President. Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby that nominations for President cease. AMPVF-MC. Ballots were collected and counted. Michael Marotz was elected President.

Brian Nordby nominated Al Wolverton for Vice-President. Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl that nominations for Vice-President cease. AMPVF-MC. Al Wolverton was elected Vice-President.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to appoint Michael J. Sieh as Secretary. AMPVF-MC.

John Mandl nominated Brian Nordby for Honorary Secretary. Al Wolverton nominated John Mandl for Honorary Secretary. Motion was made by Al Wolverton,

seconded by Rod Zoubek that nominations for Honorary Secretary cease. AMPVF-MC. Ballots were collected and counted. John Mandl was elected Honorary Secretary.

Al Wolverton nominated Brain Nordby for Treasurer. John Mandl nominated Rod Zoubek for Treasurer. Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Dean Quinn that nominations for Treasurer cease. AMPVF-MC. Ballots were collected and counted. Rod Zoubek was elected Treasurer.

Motion was made by AI Wolverton, seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the board agenda as provided. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the December 10th regular meeting were approved and accepted by the president.

A public forum was held. One visitor was welcomed.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on Nebraska author visit, reading series, and reviewed the districts report card.

Secondary Principal/Activity Director Chris Stogdill presented the annual Personnel report and reported on personnel hire, all-state awards, and Todd Whitaker presentation.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on Ag building heating, north entrance steps, evaluation form, board retreat, and upcoming workshops.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the contract between David Ernesti and the School District for the position of Mathematics Instructor for the 2007-2008 school year starting January 3, 2008. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded by Al Wolverton to approve the personnel school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Al Wolverton to recognize Megan Goeken & Alexis Sieh, volleyball; Pat Campbell, football; and Nancy Seeman & Alex Wolf, play production for academic all-state awards. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek seconded by Brian Nordby to a) approve payment for the December bills of District #3 presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:22 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be February 11, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library. Dated this 18th of January, 2008.

Signed:

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. January 23, 2008)