

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

January 14, 2009

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted notice and current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the posted notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF - All members present voted for, MC-Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Wednesday, January 14, 2009 at 6:57 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Superintendent Michael J. Sieh administered the oath of office to new board member, Mark Christensen.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Rod Zoubek, Brian Nordby, Michael Marotz, Mark Christensen and Dean Quinn. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, Chris Stogdill and Kim Hoehne.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342. Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Election of officers was held:

John Mandl nominated Michael Marotz for President. Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn that nominations for President cease. AMPVF-MC. Michael Marotz was elected President.

John Mandl nominated Brian Nordby for Vice-President. Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Rod Zoubek that nominations for Vice-President cease. AMPVF-MC. Brian Nordby was elected Vice-President.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to appoint Michael J. Sieh as Secretary. AMPVF-MC.

Brian Nordby nominated John Mandl for Honorary Secretary. Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Michael Marotz that nominations for Honorary Secretary cease. AMPVF-MC. John Mandl was elected Honorary Secretary.

Dean Quinn nominated Rod Zoubek for Treasurer. Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby that nominations for Treasurer cease. AMPVF-MC. Rod Zoubek was elected Treasurer.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to approve the board agenda as provided. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the December 8, 2008 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the president.

A public forum was held. Correspondences of three thank you cards and one letter were read.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on the science and health curriculums and district report card.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill gave the annual personnel report, possible kitchen hire, recognition of all-state and academic all-state awards, and activity prices.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the SPED bus purchase, band lockers school boiler, checking account balance, monthly transactions, policy reading, superintendent's evaluation, recognition of previous board member and upcoming workshops.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Rod Zoubek, to approve the science and health curriculums. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded Dean Quinn to approve the personnel school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to approve the hire of Jeannette Hasenkamp for the part-time kitchen position at a rate of \$8.67/hour. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to recognize the One-Act Team and Coaches for their runner-up trophy at the State One-Act Competition. Team members include Jeanna Ahrenholtz, Adrianna Aleman, Jeremy Anderson, Katelyn Ashker, Jacob Bohac, Bryant Borgmann, Bryce Borgmann, Greg Brandl, Seth Brooks, Taylor Caldwell, Patrick Campbell, Anizette Canchola, Jake Chamberlain, Lucas Chamberlain, Lindsay Christiansen, Miranda Clausen, Amber Daniel, Olivia Domogalla, Richard Domogalla, Kyle Dover, Evan Eberly, Kody Erbst, Tate Erbst, Allison Flood, Brianna Frickenstein, Jackie Glaser, Gerry Hastreiter, Tiffany Henrickson, Whitney Heppner, Joshua Herscheid, Jade Hetzler, Ashley Hoffman, Jordon Hunke, Brooke Jensen, Robbie Johnson, Alex Kethcart, Cori Kleinschmit, Taylor Kleinschmit, Krista LaBruzzo, Melissa Leaver, Marty Mandl, Michael McCarthy, Tim Mendlik, Shayla Meyer, Paige Moore, Grant Nordby, Audrey Novotny, Nick Oertwich, Brandon

Oestreich, Samantha Oestreich, Shannon Pestel, Bailey Poeschl, Samantha Putters, Shelby Putters, Brian Qualls, Bethany Reese, Kyley Reese, Lisa Scheidegger, Sydney Schellpeper, Nancy Seeman, Alexis Sieh, Dasirae Sieh, Brent Thor, Kevin Thor, Samantha Unger, Genna Vogel, Nelson Vollbrecht, Lari Wagner, Samantha Weis, Carter Westerhold, Alex Wolf, and Michael Wurdinger along with Coaches Ted Peck and Sue Seeman. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by John Mandl, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize Chelsie Weatherholt & Alexis Sieh, Volleyball; and Nancy Seeman & Alex Wolf, Play Production for Academic All-State Awards. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to approve the purchase of a mid bus from Omaha Truck Center in the amount of \$48,989. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the first reading of board policy #4007. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby to recognize Al Wolverton for his eight years of service to the Stanton Community Schools' Board of Education. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:30 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be February 9, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 20th of January, 2009.

Signed:	
	Michael J. Sieh, Secretary
	Stanton Community Schools
	Stanton NF 68779-0749

(Pub. January 28, 2009)