

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

March 13, 2007

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF - All members present voted for, MC-Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Tuesday, March 13, 2007 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz. Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Rod Zoubek, Michael Marotz, Al Wolverton, and Brian Nordby. Absent: Dean Quinn. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, Chris Stogdill, Kim Hoehne and four guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to declare the meeting open and properly advertised by advance notice in the Stanton Register. Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication in accordance with the Board approve method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Brian Nordby to excuse Dean Quinn from the March 13, 2007 board of education meeting due to work related circumstances. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the board agenda as provided. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the February 12th regular and February 28th special meetings were approved and accepted by the president.

A public forum was held. Visitors were welcomed. The Leadership Development class consisting of Kylie Borer, Nellie Daniel, Whitney Oertwich, Amanda Wurdinger, Natalie Westerhold, and Megan Goeken provided cheesecake for the meeting. Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on the FFA petting zoo, parent/teacher conference attendance, CTBS testing, pre-school update, and summer school.

Secondary Principal/Activity Director Chris Stogdill gave the annual report for the activities committee and reported on staff resignations, state qualifiers for wrestling and FFA. Kendra Marshall gave her annual report for guidance.

Russ Johnson gave the semi-annual report for the Maintenance department. Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on state aid, school calendar, Foundation board members, and legislative conference. Three audit bids were opened and examined.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl, to accept with regrets the resignation of Lorie Summers effective at the conclusion of the 2006-2007 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Rod Zoubek, to accept with regrets the resignation of Erin Schaapveld effective at the conclusion of the 2006-2007 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to congratulate the State Qualifiers in Wrestling; Robbie Johnson, Paul Cheyney, and Tanner Timperley and State Medalists; Robbie Johnson -5th place and Tanner Timperley - 5th place; and their coaches Tom King, Al Smidt and Randy Hansen. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Rod Zoubek to congratulate the State Qualifiers in FFA; Alex Kethcart, Andrew Wuestewald, Walter Watts, Eric Hansen, Felicia Sothan, Nellie Daniel, Shelby Paulsen, Brenda Jensen, Kayla Sothan, Kayla Salmons, Natalie Westerhold, Melissa Drott, Tyler Cadwallader, and Bethany Reese. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the activities action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Rod Zoubek to accept the auditor bid from Christensen Brozek Faltys, PC in the amount of \$3,950.00 AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to adopt the 2007-2008 school calendar. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to re-appoint Arllys Hansen and Kim Molacek to the Stanton Community Schools Foundation Board of Directors. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded by Rod Zoubek to a) approve payment for the February bills of District #3 presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; e) accept the Statement of Revenue and f) approve the Cooperative fund report. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl that the Board holds a closed session at 9:15 p.m. for personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Rod Zoubek to reconvene in open session at 9:23 p.m. before any formal action was taken. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:24 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be April 9, 2007 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 15th of March, 2007.

Signed:

(Pub. March 21, 2007)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749