

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

March 10, 2008

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the posted notice and current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the posted notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF - All members present voted for, MC-Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, March 10, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz. Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Michael Marotz, John Mandl, Rod Zoubek, Al Wolverton and Brian Nordby. Absent: Dean Quinn. Also present were Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and six guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Rod Zoubek to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342. Notice of the meeting was given in advance by posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Al Wolverton to approve the board agenda as provided. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the February 10th regular meeting and March 5th special meeting were approved and accepted by the president.

A public forum was held. Visitors were welcomed.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on the parent teacher conferences, celebrity readers, summer school need, standardized testing, and reading series

Dean Quinn joined the meeting at 7:25 p.m.

Secondary Principal/Activity Director Chris Stogdill reported on staff resignations, probationary teachers, state qualifiers and medalists, Stanton apparel, and gave the

comprehensive activities report. Rick Spotanski and Carter Westerhold gave a demonstration of the Robotics team. Kendra Marshall gave the annual report for guidance.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on NJUMP, administration salaries and contracts, financial transactions, 2008-09 school calendar, Foundation members, notification of meetings, Region III Secretary/Treasurer. Russ Johnson gave the semi-annual Head of Operations report.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to accept with regrets the resignation of Charlene Geyer. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Al Wolverton to accept with regrets the resignation of Lynn Boldt. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Rod Zoubek to congratulate the State Qualifiers in Wrestling: Robbie Johnson, Grant Nordby, Paul Cheyney, Greg Brandl, Tanner Timperley and State Medalists Robbie Johnson: 5th place, Paul Cheyney: 6th place, Tanner Timperley: State Champion and their coaches Tom King & Randy Hansen. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn to congratulate the State FFA Convention Qualifiers: Andrew Wuesterwald: 2nd gold state qualifier, Bethany Reese: 2nd gold state qualifier, Tyler Cadwallader: 1st gold state qualifier, Brenda Jensen: Bronze and Terra Wagner: Silver. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Al Wolverton to approve the activities school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Rod Zoubek to adopt the resolution for amendment and addendum to Nebraska Joint Utilities Management Program (NJUMP). AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to adopt the 2008-2009 school calendar. Aye: Dean Quinn, Al Wolverton, Rod Zoubek, John Mandl, and Brian Nordby. Nay: Michael Marotz. MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to re-appoint John Eberly and Kim Hoehne to the Stanton Community Schools Foundation Board of Directors. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded by John Mandl to a) approve payment for the February bills of District #3 presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl that the board hold a closed session at 8:55 p.m. for a strategy session with respect to collective bargaining clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law, and

personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Al Wolverton to exit closed session at 10:06 p.m. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 10:07 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be April 14, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 14th of March, 2008.		
·	Signed:	
		Michael J. Sieh, Secretary
		Stanton Community Schools
(Pub. March 19, 2008)		Stanton, NE 68779-0749