

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

November 9, 2009

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday November 9, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Brian Nordby, Mark Christensen, Michael Marotz, Dean Quinn, Rod Zoubek, and John Mandl. Also present Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and five guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Dean Quinn to declare the meeting open and properly posted and/or published by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the October 12, 2009 regular meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Five guests were welcomed.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on the Veteran's Day program, fire prevention week, and the curriculum/school improvement update.

Secondary Principal Chris Stogdill reported on the upcoming staff Christmas party, staff evaluations, girl's golf team qualifying for state, cross country team members qualifying for state, football team qualifying for the state playoffs, and the start of winter activities. Chris Stogdill gave the annual report for the technology committee.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the north entrance, monthly transactions, mission goal statement, and superintendent's evaluation. Dan Fueroff of Christensen, Brozek, Faltys P.C. gave the annual audit report for the 2008-2009 school year.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the technology improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize the girl's golf team and coach for qualifying for the state golf meet. Team members included Cori Kleinschmit, Taylor Kleinschmit, Shelby Paulsen, Brenna Frickenstein, and Dana Johnson along with their coach Jon Erickson. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to recognize Brittni Hart, Audrey Novotny, Grant Nordby, and Colton Sperl for qualifying for the state cross country meet along with their coach David Ernesti. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Brian Nordby, second by Dean Quinn to recognize the football team and coaches for qualifying for the state football playoffs. Team members included Blake Heppner, Michael Eberly, Adam Krentz, Paul Cheyney, Colby Wolf, Spencer Nickolite, Mick Clausen, Dexter Patterson, Justice Hahlbeck, Tate Erbst, Tucker Lanz, Derek Bremer, Brennan Borgmann, Nelson Vollbrecht, Brian Qualls, Bryant Borgmann, Tim Mendlik, Eustin Frisch, John Rusk, Kyle Kander, Mark Tomka, Tanner Tomka, Dan Hekrdle, Hunter Hetzler, Jacob Bohac, Bo Qualls, and Jeb Nordby along with their coaches Greg Hansen, Dave Stoddard, and Jeff Wall. AMPVF-MC

Moved by Brian Nordby, second by John Mandl to approve the use of the ARRA special education monies for special need building improvement. Ayes: John Mandl, Mike Marotz, and Brian Nordby. Nays: Mark Christensen, Dean Quinn, and Rod Zoubek. Motion failed.

Moved by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to accept the audit report for the 2008-2009 school year as prepared by Christensen, Brozek, Faltys P.C. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Brian Nordby, seconded by Mark Christensen to approve the district's mission statement and goal statements dated November 9, 2009. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl to approve the first reading of board policy #5419 Use of Restraints and Seclusion. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue, AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:35 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be December 14, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 10th of November, 2009.

_				- 1	
	n	n	Δ	a	•
Si	ч		C	u	

(Pub. November 18, 2009)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749