

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

April 14, 2008

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF - All members present voted for, MC-Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, April 14, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President Michael Marotz. Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Michael Marotz, Dean Quinn, Al Wolverton, and Brian Nordby. Absent: Rod Zoubek. Also present were Michael Sieh, Chris Stogdill, Mary McKeon, Kim Hoehne and 21 guests.

President Michael Marotz announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by Dean Quinn to declare the meeting open and properly advertised by advance notice in the Stanton Register. Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in advance to the president of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to approve the board agenda as provided. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the March 10th regular meeting were approved and accepted by the president.

A public forum was held. Visitors were welcomed and two correspondences were read.

Rod Zoubek joined the meeting at 7:10 p.m.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on summer school data, ILCD update, and Kindergarten roundup. The elementary student council presented a PowerPoint highlighting this year's activities.

Secondary Principal/Activity Director Chris Stogdill reported on staff resignations, 2008-2009 new teacher contracts, State Qualifiers in Speech & FFA, and JH cross country.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the annual walk around, north entrance steps, additional employment contracts, summer school contracts, elementary copier, monthly transactions, board goals, 403b compliance, NASB ballot, district report card and gave the annual comprehensive report for the Governance and Americanism committee.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Dean Quinn to accept with regrets the resignation of Joyce Heller. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to accept with regrets the resignation of Jean Brandl. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to approve the contract between Amanda Dahlkoetter and the School District for the position of Elementary Instructor for the 2008-2009 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Al Wolverton to approve the contract between Sarah Klintobe and the School District for the position of Elementary Instructor for the 2008-2009 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Dean Quinn to congratulate State Qualifiers in Speech: Courtney Leaver, Alexis Sieh, Nancy Seeman, Samantha Weis, Alex Wolf, & Carter Westerhold; and State medalists Courtney Leaver for her State Championship in Humorous and State Runner up in Entertainment; Nancy Seeman for her State Runner up in Persuasive and 3rd place finish in Informative: Samantha Weis for her 5th place finish in Humorous; and Alexis Sieh for her 6th place finish in Poetry; and coaches Ted Peck and Meredith Jessen. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Al Wolverton to congratulate State Qualifiers in FFA: Felicia Sothan & Shelby Paulsen in Agricultural Sales. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the Additional Employment Contract between Sharon Sanderson and the school district for the summer of 2008. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the Additional Employment Contract between Karen Petersen and the school district for the summer of 2008. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Michael Marotz, seconded by Brian Nordby to approve the Governance & Americanism school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Brian Nordby, seconded by John Mandl to approve the Board Resolution concerning section 403(B) arrangement. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by John Mandl to officially cast the Stanton Community Schools ballot for legislation committee member No. 15 for Michael Marotz. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by AI Wolverton seconded by John Mandl to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Rod Zoubek that the board holds a closed session at 8:35 p.m. for a strategy session with respect to collective bargaining clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Al Wolverton, seconded by Brian Nordby to exit closed session at 9:07 p.m. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:08 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be May 12, 2008 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 18th of April, 2008.

Signed:

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. April 23, 2008)