

## STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

February 11, 2013

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday February 11, 2013 at 5:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Bret Burtwistle, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Absent: Dean Quinn and Rod Zoubek. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and five guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Dean Quinn joined the meeting at 5:02 p.m.

Motion was made by John Mandl seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the January 14, 2013 regular board meeting and February 6, 2013 special meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed. Rod Zoubek joined the meeting at 5:04 p.m.

Elementary Principal reported on the spelling bee, scheduled testing dates, elementary book fair and gave the annual comprehensive report for the instruction, curriculum and assessments committee.

Two additional guests joined the meeting.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on cell phone policy and regulations, approval of music accompanist, recognition of state FFA choir & competitions awards, recognition of FBLA

sponsor, spring sports practice, protocol for assigning coaches, and student handbook regulations for candidates' guideline.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on mower purchase, superintendent salary negotiations, teacher negotiations, monthly financials, superintendent evaluation form, board member on calendar committee, upcoming workshops and conferences, recommendation of principals, membership in NASB, and appointment of a board member to the Stanton Community Schools Foundation Board. Nathan Haug of CMI gave a presentation on the building energy audit.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to approve the instruction, curriculum & assessment school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the employment of Virginia Maas as music accompanist at a rate of \$17.26/hour. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize Zach Doffin for being selected to the State FFA Choir. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to recognize Courtney Schellpeper, Justin Bowers, Abigail Colsden, and Ashly Reese for placing 6th as a team in the Junior Division at the District 3 Livestock Judging Contest. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to recognize Susan Seeman for her selection to the FBLA-PBL Advisor Wall of Fame. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the Teachers' Negotiated Agreement with a 2013-2014 base salary of \$32,000.00 and 2014-2015 base salary of \$32,700.00. Ayes: John Mandl, Bret Burtwistle, Rod Zoubek, Dean Quinn, Lisa Wilke. Nays: Kirk Van Pelt MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by John Mandl to renew the board's membership with the Nebraska Association of School Boards for the 2013-2014 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to appoint Lisa Wilke to the board of directors for the Stanton Community Schools Foundation. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Lisa Wilke to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 6:25 p.m. The next regular monthly meeting will be March 11, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 15th of February 2013. Signed:

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. February 23, 2013)