

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

January 14, 2013

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday January 14, 2013 at 6:54 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by Vice-President Dean Quinn.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Dean Quinn, Rod Zoubek John Mandl, Bret Burtwistle, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and eleven guests.

The Oath of Office was taken by all board members.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present.

Vice-President Dean Quinn announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek seconded by John Mandl to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the Vice-President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Rod Zoubek nominated Dean Quinn for President and Bret Burtwistle nominated John Mandl for President. Moved by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl that nominations for President cease. AMPVF-MC, John Mandl was elected President.

John Mandl assumed his post as President.

John Mandl nominated Bret Burtwistle for Vice-President and Bret Burtwistle nominated Dean Quinn for Vice-President. Moved by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Rod Zoubek that nominations for Vice-President cease. AMPVF-MC. Dean Quinn was elected Vice-President.

Moved by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to appoint Michael J. Sieh as Secretary. AMPVF-MC.

Bret Burtwistle nominated Lisa Wilke for Honorary Secretary. Moved by Dean Quinn seconded by Kirk Van Pelt that nominations for Honorary Secretary cease. AMPVF-MC. Lisa Wilke was elected Honorary Secretary.

Dean Quinn nominated Rod Zoubek for Treasurer. Moved by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Bret Burtwistle that nominations for Treasurer cease. AMPVF-MC. Rod Zoubek was elected Treasurer.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the December 10, 2012 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Two thank you notes were read. Guests were welcomed, two guests addressed the board.

Elementary Principal reported on the District report card, NAEP testing, and state writing testing for grades 4, 8 & 11.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on cell phone policy and regulations, recognition of Academic all-state awards, student handbook regulations for candidates' guideline and gave the annual comprehensive personnel report. FFA Advisor Mr. Lambertsen gave a presentation on the FFA National Convention.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on teacher negotiations, monthly financials, superintendent evaluation form, upcoming workshops and conferences, recognition of previous board members, board retreat, district government relation network representative for NASB, health flexible spending account limit and disposal auction report.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to approve the personnel school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to recognize Kennedy Cheyney & Hiliary Huss, volleyball; Dacia Beyke, Braska Patterson, Zachary Doffin & Caleb Goeken, cross country; Cody Carlson & Jed Nordby, football; and Justin Aaberg & Journee Trimble, play production for Academic All-State Awards. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl to recognize Michael Marotz for "12 years of service", Brian Nordby for "8 years of service", Mark Christensen for "4 years of service" to the Stanton Community School's Board of Education. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn to appoint John Mandl as the district's government relations network representative. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to approve the resolution titled "\$2,500 Health Flexible Spending Account Limit Amendment". AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Lisa Wilke to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the

Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Rod Zoubek that the board holds a closed session at 8:05 p.m. for a strategy session with respect to collective bargaining clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to exit close session at 9:07 p.m.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:08 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be February 11, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 15th of January 2013.	
Signed:	
	Michael J. Sieh, Secretary
	Stanton Community Schools
(Pub. January 23, 2013)	Stanton, NE 68779-0749