

## STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

June 10, 2013

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday June 10, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Rod Zoubek, John Mandl, Kirk Van Pelt, Bret Burtwistle, Lisa Wilke, and Dean Quinn. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and one guest.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn seconded by Rod Zoubek to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the May 13, 2013 regular board meeting was approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Guest was welcomed and two correspondences were read.

Elementary Principal reported on the 2013-2014 elementary student/parent handbook.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on 2013-2014 certified staff contracts, non-teaching coaching contract, 2013-2014 certified & non certified handbooks, state qualifiers and medalist, 2013-2014 secondary student handbook.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the lease agreement with Ag society, summer building projects, state aid legislative changes, monthly financials, approval of superintendent to sign state & federal forms, name official bank and paper of the school, and upcoming workshop.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the contract between Jill Blaylock and the school district for the position of elementary instructor for the 2013-2014 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the contract between Julie Cunningham and the school district for the position of physical education instructor for the 2013-2014 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the drama coach contract between the school district and Adam Peterson for the 2013-2014 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize and congratulate the following students for qualifying for the state track meet: Rachel Brandl-long jump, Kennedy Cheyney-triple jump & pole vault, Zach Doffin-3200 meter run, Tucker Lanz-triple jump, Braska Patterson-1600 meter run & 3200 meter run, Dexter Patterson-1600 meter run & 3200 meter run, Sierra Zach-100 meter high hurdles & pole vault and their coaches Jeff Wall, Patric Brechbill, Dave Ernesti & Dustin Lambertsen: recognize and congratulate Braska Patterson for placing 4<sup>th</sup> in the 3200 meter run at the state track meet: recognize and congratulate the Boys' golf team for qualifying for the state golf meet. Team members include Brennan Borgmann, Caden Doggett, Brook Klinetobe, Josh Krentz and Jeb Nordby along with Coach Jon Erickson: recognize and congratulate the following students for receiving NCPA academic all-state award; Kennedy Cheyney-track & field, Zaidya Hirschman-track & field, Zachary Doffin-track & field and Jeb Nordby- boys' golf. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to authorize the Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Michael J. Sieh, to act on behalf of the board of education when making applications and requesting reimbursements for all state and federal programs for the 2013-2014 school year. :officially name the <u>Stanton Register</u> as the official paper of the Stanton Community Schools for the 2013-2014 school year: name the <u>Stanton State Bank</u> and the <u>First Nebraska Bank of Stanton</u> as the official banking institutions of the Stanton Community Schools for the 2013-2014 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:25 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be July 8, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 13th of June 2013. Signed:

(Pub. June 19, 2013)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749