

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

March 11, 2013

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday March 11, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Bret Burtwistle, Lisa Wilke, Dean Quinn and Rod Zoubek. Absent: Kirk Van Pelt. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and four guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek seconded by Bret Burtwistle to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke seconded by Rod Zoubek to excuse Kirk Van Pelt from the March 11, 2013 board of education meeting due to medical circumstances.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the February 11, 2013 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed.

Elementary Principal reported on the parent/teacher conferences K-6 and summer school.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on probationary teachers seeking tenure, 2013-2014 staff contract, staff resignations, state qualifiers & medalist, parent/teacher conferences 7-12 and gave the annual comprehensive activities report.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on mower bids, fairground lease, superintendent & principal salary negotiations, certified staff pay schedule, monthly financials, 2013-2014 school calendar, upcoming workshops and conferences, appointment of community members to the Stanton Community Schools Foundation Board, and NASB legislative committee nomination. Nathan Haug of CMI reviewed the building energy audit. Russ Johnson gave the semi-annual Head of Operations report.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the contract between Kirby Tegeler and the School District for the position of Elementary Special Education instructor for the 2013-2014 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn accept the resignation of Dustin Lambertsen with regrets. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Lisa Wilke to accept the resignation of Larry Schomaker. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to congratulate the State Qualifiers in wrestling: Jake Betzen, Brennan Borgmann, Houston Huss, Jeb Nordby & Colby Wolfe and State Medalists : Brennan Borgmann-4th place, Houston Huss-6th place & Jeb Nordby-6th place, and their coaches Tom King, Mark Christensen, Randy Hansen & Kenny Wurdinger. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the activities school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to accept the lawn mower bid from Dinkel's in the amount of \$14,750.00. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Rod Zoubek to adopt the 2013-2014 school calendar. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Lisa Wilke to appoint Arllys Hansen and Mark Christensen to the Stanton Community Schools Foundation Board of Directors for a three year term and Seth Pohlman to the Stanton Community Schools Foundation Board of Directors for a two year term. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:50 p.m. The next regular monthly meeting will be April 8, 2013 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 13th of March 2013. Signed:

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. March 20, 2013)