

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

January 13, 2014

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday January 13, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Bret Burtwistle, Dean Quinn, Rod Zoubek, John Mandl, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and five guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek seconded by Bret Burtwistle to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Bret Burtwistle nominated John Mandl for President. Moved by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle that nominations for the office of President cease and John Mandl be unanimously elected President. Ayes: Bret Burtwistle, Dean Quinn, Rod Zoubek, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Abstain: John Mandl. MC.

Bret Burtwistle nominated Dean Quinn for Vice-President. Moved by Lisa Wilke seconded by Dean Quinn that nominations for the office of Vice-President cease and Dean Quinn be unanimously elected Vice-President. AMPVF-MC.

Moved by Dean Quinn, seconded by John Mandl to appoint Michael J. Sieh as Secretary and unanimously appoint Lisa Wilke as Honorary Secretary. AMPVF-MC.

John Mandl nominated Bret Burtwistle for Treasurer. Moved Dean Quinn, seconded by Lisa Wilke that nominations for the office of Treasurer cease and Bret Burtwistle be unanimously elected Treasurer. Ayes: John Mandl, Dean Quinn, Rod Zoubek, Lisa Wilke, and Kirk Van Pelt. Abstain: Bret Burtwistle. MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the December 9, 2013 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed.

Elementary Principal reported on a parent engagement speaker, family science night, and state writing testing for grades 4, 8 & 11.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on a personnel hire, recognition of Academic all-state awards, public school drug searches and gave the annual comprehensive personnel report.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the boiler proposal, elementary well proposal, band uniforms, digital projectors, monthly financials, second reading of board policies #5007 & #5101, superintendent evaluation form, upcoming workshops and conferences, board retreat, and district government relation network representative for NASB.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the Personnel School Improvement Action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the employment of Donna Vollbrecht as a special education van driver at \$13.85/hour. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Dean Quinn to recognize Muryam Koualti, Braska Patterson girls' cross country; Caleb Goeken & Caylan Hirschman, boys' cross country; Hiliary Huss & Ariel Zach, volleyball; Cody Carlson & Mitchael Sieh, football; and Shayla Mandl & Journee Trimble, play production for academic all-state awards. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Rod Zoubek to table Phase II, middle school heating and air proposal, until the next board meeting. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the bid from Comp View for four digital projection room upgrades in the amount of \$10,892.84. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the second reading of board policies #5007 & #5101. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Dean Quinn to appoint John Mandl as the district's government relations network representative. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Lisa Wilke to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Bret Burtwistle that the board holds a closed session at 9:25 p.m. for personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the

protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to exit close session at 10:16 p.m.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 10:17 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be February 10, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 15th of January 2014.	
Signed:	
_	Michael J. Sieh, Secretary
	Stanton Community Schools
(Pub. January 22, 2014)	Stanton, NE 68779-0749