

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

June 9, 2014

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, June 9, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Room 301 (7-9 English), at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Bret Burtwistle, Lisa Wilke, Rod Zoubek and Kirk Van Pelt. Absent: Dean Quinn. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and two guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the meeting room.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the Board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to excuse Dean Quinn from the June 9, 2014 board of education meeting due to work circumstances. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke seconded by Bret Burtwistle to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the May 12, 2014 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed. Two thank you cards were read.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on the elementary student/parent handbook.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on the certified & non-certified staff handbooks, staff resignation, certified staff contact, state qualifiers & medalists and secondary student handbook.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the heating and air project, summer building projects, CMI service contract, food director contract, high ability learner and teacher mentor programs, monthly financial transactions, first reading of policies, superintendent to sign forms, naming of official paper, naming of official banks and AdvanED district accreditation.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Rod Zoubek to accept the resignation of Jeff Wall with regrets. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the contract between Mary Beth Hoien and the School District for the position of mathematics instructor for the 2014-2015 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to recognize and congratulate the following students for qualifying for the Class "C" State Track Meet: MacKenzie Brandl - 100 meter dash, 200 meter dash & 400 meter relay; Rachel Brandl - long jump & 400 meter relay; Caleb Goeken - 3200 meter run; Hiliary Huss - 400 meter relay; Braska Patterson - 1600 meter run & 3200 meter run; Siera Zach - 100 meter high hurdles & 400 meter relay; and their coaches Jeff Wall, Patric Brechbill, Julie Cunningham & Dave Ernesti; recognize and congratulate MacKenzie Brandl for placing 2nd in the 100 meter dash, 1st in the 200 meter dash & 5th in 400 meter relay; Rachel Brandl for placing 5th in 400 meter relay; Hilary Huss for placing 5th in 400 meter relay; Braska Patterson for placing 6th in the 1600 meter run & 8th in the 3200 meter run; and Siera Zach for placing 7th in the 100 meter high hurdles and 5th in 400 meter relay at the Class "C" State Track Meet; recognize and congratulate the following students for gualifying for the Class "C" State Golf Meet: Caden Doggett and Brook Klinetobe along with Coach Jon Erickson; recognize and congratulate Brooke Klinetobe for placing 15th at the Class "C" State Golf Meet; and to recognize and congratulate the following students for receiving NCPA Academic All-State Award: Dacia Beyke - Music, Abigail Colsden - Track & Field, Caleb Goeken - Track & Field and Music, Braska Patterson - Track & Field, Jason Petersen - Boys Golf, and Mitchael Sieh - Track & Field. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt seconded by John Mandl to approve a 4-year building service contract with Control Management, Inc (CMI) for preventative maintenance, technology upgrades, onsite owner training, database protection and phone/web support in the amounts of Year 1-\$15,934.00, Year 2-\$16,412.02, Year 3-\$16,904.38 and Year 4-\$17,411.51. Ayes: John Mandl, Kirk Van Pelt, Bret Burtwistle, and Lisa Wilke. Nays: Rod Zoubek. Absent: Dean Quinn. Motion Carried.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the contract between Jeanette Davidson and the Stanton Community Schools for the position of Food Director with an annual base salary of \$32,000 for the 2014-2015 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the first reading of board policies #1120, 3540, 5008, 5101, 5208, 5306, 5506, 6283, & 6285. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt seconded by Lisa Wilke to authorize the Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Michael J. Sieh, to act on behalf of the Board of Education when making applications and requesting reimbursements for all state and federal programs for the 2014-2015 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to officially name the <u>Stanton Register</u> as the official paper for the Stanton Community Schools for the 2014-2015 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to officially name the <u>Stanton</u> <u>State Bank</u> and the <u>First Nebraska Bank of Stanton</u> as the official banking institutions for the Stanton Community Schools for the 2014-2015 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Lisa Wilke to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle seconded by Rod Zoubek that the board holds a closed session at 8:40 p.m. for a personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Rod Zoubek to exit close session at 8:50 p.m.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:51 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be July 14, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Room 301 (7-9 English).

Dated this 13th of June 2014.

Signed:

(Pub. June 18, 2014)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749