

STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

March 10, 2014

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, March 10, 2014 at 7:01 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Bret Burtwistle, Lisa Wilke, Kirk Van Pelt, Dean Quinn and Rod Zoubek. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and five guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Rod Zoubek to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the Board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the February 5, 2014 board retreat and the February 13, 2014 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed.

Elementary Principal reported on parent/teacher conferences, summer school, and high ability learners program.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on a possible 1:1 program, probationary teachers seeking tenure, resignations of certified staff members, potential

hires, recognition of state qualifier & medalist, parent/teacher conferences, and gave the annual comprehensive report for the activity committee.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on heating and air bids, interlocal agreement, administrative and classified staff salaries, monthly financials, school calendar, upcoming conference, appointment of foundation members to the Stanton Community Schools Foundation Board, and nomination to NASB legislative committee. Russ Johnson gave the semi-annual head of operations report.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to accept with regrets the resignations of Karen Gray, Jill Blaylock, Gina Geier and Kirby Tegler. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Rod Zoubek to congratulate Houston Huss for qualifying for the state wrestling meet and finishing runner-up; along with his coaches Tom King, Mark Christensen, Randy Hansen & Kenny Wurdinger. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Rod Zoubek to approve the activities school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by John Mandl, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt, to accept the base bid from Sioux Contractors in the amount of \$1,788,900 for heating and air conditioning in the 1953 Middle School Building along with alternate # 3 for \$377,900 and alternate #5 for \$-26,800 totaling \$2,140,000.00 Ayes: Bret Burtwistle, John Mandl, Kirk Van Pelt, and Lisa Wilke. Nays: Dean Quinn and Rod Zoubek. Motion Carried.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the interlocal agreement with the Stanton County Agricultural Society concerning the lease of the Stanton County Fairgrounds. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Rod Zoubek to adopt the 2014-2015 school calendar. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Dean Quinn to appoint JB Eberly and Vincent Hoehne to the Stanton Community Schools Foundation Board of Directors for a three year term. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by John Mandl to nominate Kirk Van Pelt to serve on the NASB Legislative Committee to represent district #15. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by John Mandl to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Dean Quinn that the board holds a closed session at 9:20 p.m. for a strategy session with respect to collective bargaining clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to exit close session at 9:38 p.m.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:39 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be April 14, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 12th of March 2014.

Signed:

(Pub. March 19, 2014)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749