

## STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

May12, 2014

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, May 12, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: John Mandl, Bret Burtwistle, Lisa Wilke, Dean Quinn, Rod Zoubek and Kirk Van Pelt. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and eleven guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the Board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the April 14, 2014 regular board meeting were approved and accepted by the President.

Paul Grieger from DA Davidson presented the lease purchase agreement.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Dean Quinn to authorize and approve the lease-purchase of certain equipment for the district's education facilities ("project"); authorizing the execution and delivery by the district of documents relating to such lease-purchase financing; approving the issuance of certificates of participation in the lease rental payments to be made by the district, subject to the parameters set forth herein; authorizing the president of the board of education or the superintendent of schools to determine the final aggregate principal amount, maturities, rates, terms and other details of such certificates; approving the delivery and use of an offering circular in connection with the offer and sale of such certificate; designation the certificates as qualified tax-exempt obligations; adopting certain post-issuance compliance procedures with respect to the certificates; and authorizing certain actions and documents and prescribing other matters relating thereto. AMPVF-MC.

A public forum was held. Guests were welcomed. Two patrons addressed the board.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on Loyalty Day program, Keep Nebraska Beautiful Day, NeSA assessments, art & music curriculum guides and gave the annual special education comprehensive report.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham staff appreciation night, additional employment agreements, resignation, and proposed drug policy. FBLA sponsor Susan Seeman and two students presented results from the FBLA State Leadership Conference.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on heating and air project, walk around results, administrative salaries & contracts, and an upcoming workshop.

Motion was made by Rod Zoubek, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to approve art and music curriculum guides. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Lisa Wilke to approve the Special Education school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the additional employment contracts between Melora Hirschman; Shane Hennessy; Sarah Klinetobe; Rick Spotanski and the school district for the 2014-2015 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by John Mandl to accept the resignation of Cissy Louthan as Food Director at the conclusion of her 2013-2014 contract with regrets. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to congratulate Tommie Brechbill and Caleb Goeken for qualifying for the National FBLA Conference in Sports and Entertainment Management along with their sponsor Susan Seeman. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Bret Burtwistle, to contribute \$3,430.00 to the FBLA organization to assist in cost associated with their National Convention. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Dean Quinn to approve the contracts between Michael J. Sieh for the position of Superintendent with an annual base salary of \$128,125; Mary McKeon for the position of Elementary Principal with an annual base salary of \$73,134; David Cunningham for the position of Secondary Principal/Activity Director with an annual base salary of \$88,150 for 2014-2015 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Dean Quinn, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Board Summary Report; and e) accept the Summary Statement of Revenue. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle seconded by Lisa Wilke that the board holds a closed session at 8:25 p.m. for a personnel and the evaluation of job performance clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest or for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of an individual in compliance with the law. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to exit close session at 9:42 p.m.

The meeting was duly adjourned at 9:43 p.m.

The next regular monthly meeting will be June 9, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library.

Dated this 13th of May 2014.

Signed:

(Pub. May 21, 2014)

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749